My Labour Face.

I’m not naive enough to think I’m going to look flawless and not-sweaty-at-all in labour, but I definitely plan to START off looking nice, if I can. I do plan to do a full face of make-up before going into hospital, if my pain/contractions/time allows but if I don’t, that’s fine. Looking good during labour isn’t for the benefit of other people and I really do understand that pretty soon into labour I’m not going to care but for me, having make-up on is going to make me feel normal and powerful. Which is what I think I’ll need during the beginning stages.

After birth and during the beginning weeks of motherhood I’m pretty sure I’m not going to want to or have the time to put lots of make-up on every day so I thought I’d share my essentials for a bare-faced, dewy look. I suffer from Rosacea sometimes but these products are gentle and never flare it up, last for ages and aren’t too pricey.

img_2041-1

  1. Clinique Moisture surge (£34.00 for 100ml. 15ml pot in picture) – after cleansing and toning I apply this for moisture. You only need a small amount, it absorbs brilliantly and keeps my skin well hydrated.
  2. Benefit Boi-ing concealer (£17.50)- This is a lightweight but industrial strength concealer. It has always covered everything I’ve needed it to- redness, Rosacea, spots, scars and blends well. I apply a small amount under my eyes and over my cheeks if there’s redness that needs covering. I used to have a green-tinted concealer for red areas but this works better than anything I’ve used previously.
  3. Maybelline superstay 24 foundation (£8.99)- I use foundation pretty much daily so I never want to spend lots of money as I get through a fair amount- this is cheap, gives good coverage and stays in place for most of the day. Plus it doesn’t feel heavy on my face and I still have a breathable skin feel.
  4. Maxfactor Creme puff pressed powder (£6.99)- you can use this as a powder foundation, powder for oily areas or use it as a setting powder which is what I do. I use a large powder brush and dust it lightly all over. This keeps my skin from looking shiny (It’s been so much more oily during pregnancy) and keeps my makeup on all day. Also super cheap!
  5. Clinique Chubby stick sculpting highlight (£19.99)- This is my MUST-HAVE make-up bag essential. I used it under my eyes for an instant brightening uplift and cheekbones for a dewy, well moiturised look. You can use it on top of all of the above or on a bare face just to look more awake. It works well on eye-lids and eyebrow highlights too. I used to use a liquid illuminator but found this lasts way longer and suits my complexion better.

 

I’d love to hear about your favourite I-made-no-effort-but-I-did products that keep you looking fresh- Please comment below and subscribe.

 

x

2 thoughts on “My Labour Face.

  1. themrsyepes says:

    Thought I was the only one thinking about make up when in labour lol thanks for the list of products 🙂 no favorite products but since I breakout often I’m in love with the Benefit Hello Flawless foundation so I plan to pack that baby along with me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

