Winning at Weaning!

Today I feel like I’m winning at life. Ava has eaten THREE times today. Ok, I’m not sure how much actually went into her mouth but she was quite happy to pick the food up and fling it around which is a vast improvement.

I went to see the health visitor to get Ava weighed and discuss her sudden complete lack of interest in food. The conversation went something like this:

HV: “Well, she’s gone up another percentile, so she’s obviously getting plenty of milk. How many feeds/ounces in she taking now?”

Me: “Um….well usually 8oz, although sometimes 10oz before bed, about six times a day…”

HV: ” I’m not sure she’ll be hungry enough to eat with all of that! Why don’t you try offering food first and cut down on the milk, if you can. Oh, and maybe just leave her to it?”

Seems pretty obvious, now.

So I now put Ava into her highchair, in the kitchen, as soon as she gets up. I plonk some toast/fruit/crumpets/omlette in front of her and get on with washing up/cleaning bottle/ finding discarded bits of three day old food/ dragging washing out of the washing machine that I had completely forgotten about, and I chat away. Most importantly, I let Ava get on with it. Same for lunch, although the chair will moved to the table/outside. I don’t encourage her much, I eat/drink next to her and act like it’s the most normal thing in the world, and Lo and Behold! Ava is eating. She obviously just wanted to get on with it and do it all herself. The little Diva.


So tonight, I’ll commend myself at my super-mum powers of persuasion and bask in my own glory.

Tomorrow, I bet she won’t eat at all.

 

 

Until next time,

xxxx

2 thoughts on “Winning at Weaning!

  1. Vic Curtis says:

    Yay! You cracked it! It’s so easy to fuss around kids when they’re eating which really puts them off. Kids this age can control three things in their life: When and where they sleep, when and where they poo/wee and when, where and what they eat. You can’t make them do any of those things. And pretty much any problem new parents have will be based around these issues. If babies and toddlers have no freedom in these personal needs, parents are storing up massive behaviour issues for the future as their child tries to exert some kind of control over their own existence. It’s a careful balancing act between their independence and minding ma and pa when it’s necessary. They need to experience taking ((appropriate) risks. Anxious parents make anxious kids. She looks adorable btw : )

    Like

    • Tori says:

      Hi Vic, sorry for the late reply- Thank you so much for this lovely comment 🙂 Completely validated what I have found with Ava. If I let go, and let her get on with things she does so brilliantly- I need to give her more credit! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

