Our Easter days out- Railways, Zoo’s and Hunts!

Hi friends!

As usual, its been a few weeks. As much as I’d love to post more frequently, things are pretty busy here (see last post), so I’m drafting and posting when I can. I have quite a few posts about organisation, family budgeting and more about Barbados coming up- so keep an eye out for those! Also, I have a new Twitter which means I can connect with you in real time- find me here.  Finally, for media enquiries and reviews please check out my new ‘Work with me’ page.

If I’m not posting, I’m definitely still reading (one of my favourite things)-I follow a lot of you, and love receiving your blog posts direct into my email. Shout out to Scarlett blog and Alexsbabyblog– two of the best, regular and versatile blogs around- when they come through I always sit down with a cuppa and have a read. 🙂

So!! Ava is now nearly 15 months old, and we’ve just had the best Easter ever. I LOVE Easter- it was always a big deal when we were growing up in church and my earliest memories are family BBQ’s at my Grandfathers house, lovely roast lamb, building an ‘easter garden’ with real soil, eggs and flowers at Sunday school and all the chocolate of course! Now, we don’t go to church, and if I’m honest I’m not sure how much I believe in the Easter story, but I do still see Easter as a time for family to spend time together over food and to prepare for the Spring and Summer months. Easter evokes the colour yellow, daffodils, bluebells, crisp sunny walks, my Aunty dancing around the kitchen, laughter and love. It’s a truly special time.

This was Ava’s first ‘active’ Easter- she was too small last year to take note but this year she got excited about everything! She was still young at Christmas so this is the first holiday where she’s been able to take part in everything and get excited with us- its been so special.  She’s dancing, walking and almost running so we spent the holidays with family and friends out and about. We visited a steam railway, a zoo, some beautiful gardens and had an easter hunt at Grandma’s house! Here’s what we got up to:

 

Exbury Garden Steam Railway, New forest, Hamphire:

At first I thought the entrance price here was a little too much ( Adult – £14.40, Child (3-15yrs) – £7.34) but this place is beautiful! Acres of incredible gardens, a steam railways, cafe and plenty of play parks and space. Perfect for ages up to 10/12ish I would say- there’s not a great deal for older children. They have frequent activity sheets and trails for younger ones, and the real steam train is perfect for little (and big!) train enthusiasts.


 

Marwell Zoo, Winchester, Hampshire:

We have a season ticket for Marwell, but as a day out it’s fairly reasonable at £19 for an adult. Slightely expensive at £15 for chidlren, under 2’s go free. You can reduce this by removing a donation to the zoo charity to make things cheaper by a couple of pounds. That includes entry, pet talks, trails, feeding times and the land train. There’s a small extra price for the rail-train, which we didn’t do. There lots of lovely animals, plenty to see and a couple of good playparks. Also good picnic areas, although not a lot of covered space if it rains. We like going there for a walk and play in the afternoon as it’s not to far from us.

Motissfont, Romsey, Hampshire:
Motissfont is really one of my favourite ‘go to’ places. It’s a stunning country house set in beautiful river side gardens. Theres plenty to see in the house which often holds exibitions and gallerys. The gardens have a trails, dens, a river with ducks and swans and most importantly a good coffee shop and toilets! You could spent the day here, and it’s a good price at £13.50 for adults and about £6 for children. Free for National Trust members. They held a ‘Cadbury Easter Trail’ over Easter which was £2 extra. It was a little too old for Avs, but great for 3 years plus. You trail through the grounds finding clues and eggs before claiming a chocolate prize.


And Finally- Ava’s first Easter hunt! This year she was old enough to hold the basket at Grandma’s house, and collect her own eggs 🙂 She has masses of chocolate in the cupboard now but isn’t allowed it very often at all- so it will probably last us until next Easter! If I don’t get to it first…


 

Until next time,

 

xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

